My Soulmate, My Sole Mate

.
Some may think I’ve lost my mind
Or I’m the biggest fool,
But then, they’ve never met the kind
Of man I found in YOU.
.
They’ve never tingled when you said,
Their name nor ever heard,
How our two hearts were gently led,
Without a spoken word.
.
And I suppose they’ve never felt,
Their molecules converge,
The hardest heart of stone would melt,
Them one by one, but purged
.
Into what they would only hope
Or dream in fantasy
As I sit back and watch them grope.
They are too blind to see
.
That love can be within their reach
Yet something they can’t grasp,
So not to mar the perfect peach
But only lightly clasp.
.
Then only for protection,
Should troubles rise to claim
Or threaten with extinction
When they play it as a game.
.
No wonder that the good ones
Then, get sifted through the sands
Because of some sadistic fun
It fell on cruel hands.
.
It’s for this reason, this alone,
I offered you my heart,
I saw a true and honest one,
Because you stood apart.
.
Now if you ask me all the whys
I’m of the lucky few,
I’ll say I opened up my eyes,
And saw inside of you.
.
Copyright ©by Naomi Hinshaw-Hersh
5/20/07

One response to “My Soulmate, My Sole Mate

Leave a Reply

