Dear Lord

 .

.

Dear lord,

I ask Thee for thy help this night,

My strength I fear is failing.

My life, it travels of its own accord;

My will, in turn, left trailing.

 

In my mind’s eye, I see my paths,

And know which I must follow.

However, it seems, I struggle along

A path which leads only to sorrow.

 

In earnest I fight to right my course

With goals I long to obtain.

Yet with every step forward, I fall

 further back,

And lie crying in my dismay.

 

I ask Thee not Lord, for my dreams

 to come true,

For I know I must do this myself.

I ask Thee Lord, to assist me along,

And guide me through my doubts.

Copyright ©1995

2 responses to “Dear Lord

Leave a Reply

