I Am Afraid

Hundreds of people

die everyday.

Why?

Hundreds of babies

are born everyday.

Why?

Do the babies that

are born take

away the pain that

is felt for the

people who die?

No.

I am sorry.

I am afraid.

Once I made people

cry with happiness.

Someday I will make

people cry with

sorrow.

I am sorry,

but I accept it.

I myself have

cried with sorrow.

I fear I will again…

…too soon.

I am afraid,

and I can’t accept it.

Death of others

terrifies me…

Especially when

it’s the death

of someone

I love.

©1987

Leave a Reply

