Ode to Boone’s Lick

(For Larry McMurtry)

I thought I was a poet
I thought I even know’d it
Just look at this here rhyme
Guess I’m done outta time
I reckon I just got too old
To think up the pretty prose
So whiles ma is out carvin’ the deer
(Which is actually a horse I hear)
an’ G.T. is sharpenin’ his knife
‘fore his and grandpa’s next strife
I think Uncle Seth’s trackin’ down Neva
Girl seems to think she a diva!
Marcy just poo poo and coo coos
‘cause that’s just what cute babies do
I’ll write me a ditty ‘bout hicks
A ditty by Shay called Boone’s Lick!!!

Copyright © 2003

5 responses to “Ode to Boone’s Lick

Leave a Reply

