Sweet Child

(For Cody)

Sweet child please forgive me
I didn’t know that you were there
I swear it, if I’d had a clue
I’d have taken better care

Sweet child please forgive me
For the poison I poured down your throat
The booze was supposed to numb my pain
At a time when I’d lost all hope

Sweet child please forgive me
For the abuse I subjected you to
It was my own pain I was running from
I was too blind to see the truth

Sweet child please forgive me
For starving you to death
I had lost my hold on my sanity
I was seeking my own final rest

Sweet child please forgive me
They told me I was three months along
If only I’d known I was pregnant
Maybe I wouldn’t be writing this song

Sweet child please forgive me
For throwing your life away
My innocent baby boy, Cody
May you be able to forgive me someday

Love, your momma

Copyright © 2003

6 responses to “Sweet Child

Leave a Reply

