Only A Door

.

.

What is death? Is it darkness forever?
Just a blackness when living is o’er?
The abrupt snuffing out of lifes’ candle?
Ah no! Death is only a door!

Death is only a door swinging open
And a soul that is free stepping through,
To a life that is fresher and brighter;
In a land that is spotless and new.

Now, sometimes the door opens swiftly,
Or sometimes we step in great pain;
But if only we walk through with Jesus
We never can suffer again.

No fears of the dark shall best me
When I see that my journey is o’er;
For I know, as I reach its conclusion,
Death itself is only a door.

Copyright ©1980 Irene I. Imm

(My Grandmother)

One response to “Only A Door

Leave a Reply

