Naked Before You

.

I am a flawed woman

Broken and mended

time and again.

There are monsters

that hide

beneath my bed;

Crouched in closets

lurking in my head.

There are demons

forever trying

to possess

my weary soul;

They try their best

to destroy me

once I’ve rebuilt and

again feel whole.

There are vampires

that court me

in hopes of

a drink,

They suck at

my life-force

while I teeter

on the brink.

I am a flawed woman

This fact

I do not hide;

I stand before you

with my chin

held high,

And wear all

my scars

with pride.

Copyright © 2006

.

12 responses to “Naked Before You

Leave a Reply

