Big Hug

.

Electric shocks

shoot up my arm

down my back

Pain exploding

Everywhere

Holding back the

tears as my

body screams in

agony.

I smile.

I don’t want to

frighten the sweet

little boy with

his sweet little

pain inducing

hand.

“I love you, Mommy”.

“I love you, Sweet Pea”,

I whisper back.

A single tear escapes,

falling atop

the child’s head

as his embrace

tightens.

“Big hug!”

he whispers.

Copyright© 09.19.12

.

electric_shock_1337027794

4 responses to “Big Hug

  1. Hi! john from the Book of Pain poetry blog (http://bookofpain.wordpress.com) here. Got a message that you dropped by and liked my poem “eye to eye.” I wanted to drop by and say thank you, (Thank you!)

    This poem blows me away. Very powerful throughout and the ending ‘“Big hug!”/he whispers.’ is incredible.

    I am so sorry for your distress, but thank you for sharing that with us. I am humbled by it.

    john

Leave a Reply

