Just another ‘Non-Writer’s Tearful, Heart-Broken’ Rant!

12.17.12 Mercy me! I do believe that old bastard Writer’s Block is kicking my ass three ways to Sunday again! So many things to put to paper and I just keep getting stuck staring at a blindingly white, blank page… So I tried changing my background to black, purple, blue, and a few others; all that did was distract the shit out of me… And the blank page continued to taunt me in an excruciatingly annoying way that I decided to fill the damned page with the tale of its’ taunt which led to its ultimate demise! Take that, damned blank page, for you are blank no more! I however am still insane…

 Holiday tidings all about with festive jingles and decorations everywhere for the eyes to see; an air of greediness and false pretense stinking up all the streets and alleyways as the little kiddies pretend they’ve earned a spot on Santa’s nice list, but dare not murmur the word Christmas for the offense it may lay upon some assholes ears. Oops, my cynicism is spilling out again, sorry about that…yeah.

I have issues. Usually this time of year my issues take a couple weeks off and I get to part-take in the joyous over-flow of kindness and love and good spirits permeating through the air. But there just doesn’t seem to be very much spirit floating around this year, so my depression is refusing to loosen its choke-hold at this time, Bitch!

 12.18.12 Hmm, it seems I now have new shit to ponder on as my undies are slightly in a bunch! I wonder how many poems I’ve written about tears; is it only 2 or have I passed the magical number 3? Shitloads about broken hearts, so I’m pretty screwed there; hope it’s just the one whack for the whole lot and not a per poem sort of thing… I’m pretty sure my copyright thingy only shows on either my home or about page and that’s all, so I should be safe with that one at least… I’ve never made any promises about anything that I am aware of regarding posts and if I have, point it out so I can remove it; this blog is for me primarily so if you don’t like it don’t read it, it’s that simple.

 Writer’s block is a condition, primarily associated with writing as a profession, in which an author loses the ability to produce new work. The condition varies widely in intensity. It can be trivial, a temporary difficulty in dealing with the task at hand. At the other extreme, some “blocked” writers have been unable to work for years on end, and some have even abandoned their careers. Throughout history writer’s block has been a documented problem. Professionals who have struggled with the affliction include author F. Scott Fitzgerald and pop culture cartoonist Charles M. Schulz...” (Quoted from Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Writer’s_block)

Considering how this blog began, and how this post began when I started it yesterday, before reading another’s post today, I felt the need and desire to clarify the above. Guess I was ‘touched’ by the idea that because on occasion I can’t write (writer’s block) I am actually not a writer because writer’s block is a fictitious term made up by non-writers who can’t produce, or something along those lines. It irked me. But hey, I’m proud to be grouped in with other such non-writers as F. Scott Fitzgerald and Charles M. Schulz. 🙂

 Well then, I feel better now, how about you? There is nothing like taking something way to personally and having a good vent about it to help pull you out of a pity party, eh? Reckon I owe yepirate a wee bit of thanks for that, so thank you.

Earlier today I was talking with a friend about how different things are these days compared to when we were kids; how the joyous atmosphere that we used to associate with this time of year just isn’t there. We both have people we have lost whose absence is so much more notable, naturally; but it’s so much more than just that. It’s like the Season itself is empty. And after the horrific news Friday, I’m afraid to turn my television on these days. My youngest is 6 years of age, I can’t even imagine…I couldn’t watch the reports; all I can do is trust in the Lord and have Faith as these days grow darker.

no-whipping

12.19.12 Damn it! A vast ye maties, I seem to be fixating. I think it’s an OCD thing, but it’s entirely possible that it’s just a ME thing. I had planned on posting this last night but something compelled me to hold off. This morning I sat down and re-read what was written, and I find I am still obsessing over the tongue-lashing thing. Now, since this is the first post I have attempted to write since the 12th cause of this Holiday funk I’m in, I’m fairly certain I was not in mind when the tongue-lashing was composed, but it still really irked me. From this poet’s perspective, I write what I feel-good, bad, ugly or beautiful; it’s all emotion. Tears can represent all of these, so they get written about quite often. Throughout history some of the greatest pieces of writing, whether poems or songs have mentioned tears; it is a part of life, dude. Just as broken hearts are also a huge part of life and literature. Photographers have their endless photos of sunsets, sunrises, flowers, etc.; poets have their endless pieces about love, heartache and break, and tears, etc. The wonderful and vast publics out there who may happen across the blogs containing these various pieces of art forms have the awesome freedom of choice as to whether or not they want to view/read these items of art, or merely pass them by. Isn’t that amazing? I really do feel so much better now! 🙂

Peace, love and Blessings to all.

 

 ♥ ♥ ♥ ~ Kyla ~ ♥ ♥

5 responses to “Just another ‘Non-Writer’s Tearful, Heart-Broken’ Rant!

  1. You pondered, you wrote, you posted!

    I feel a similar funk these days and have paused at times to write. Not writer’s block, but writer’s pause as I like to say. The words churn and brew and eventually are poured onto the pages as you have done. As a mother of a child and still able to blog and create beyond your most precious plight now in these moments, bravo!

    Let your words flow… The ones that sometimes struggle to the pages are the ones that feel the most, tell the most, and come from the heart- the mind finally putting its feet up and watching the miracle if your prose unfold and be told! Merry Christmas!

  2. If this text represents you weel, well, I think I like your spirit. I love the way you speak about something we bloggers and would-be writers all face: the block (remember my own “L’encre est-elle un sang contaminé?”…) and just like Joseph said here above: “The words churn and brew and eventually are poured onto the pages as you have done”, I believe it’s entirely normal (all humans seem to be equal into failure 😉 and also necessary (as breathing). Take (inspire yourself) and give (write for us all). Sometimes, though, a break is needed. Never be afraid of taking a break. Trust what you feel and respect it.
    Bad posting would be going against it. You wrote a great post, according to me.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

