The Trial

.

.

.

Shards. of glass

scattered about

All over the ground and

throughout the house

 

To step outside in daylight divine

is to incinerate the skin

Ah, but alas, no fool am I

for such an unwilling of great sins!

 

No football helmet

to protect my poor head!

What remains of my marbles

all dust now instead!

 

With moonlight the demons

pick up the blood-scent

Ripping me to shreds once my

strength has finally spent!

 

Kyla Scheuer Copyright ©2013

4 responses to “The Trial

  1. I like this particular line ending … the fact that you split my from strength made the innuendo interesting.

    Ripping me to shreds once my
    strength has finally spent!

    I also liked the reference to marbles …

    What remains of my marbles
    all dust now instead!

    It took me a second, and then I went … ahhhhh, very good! At first I visualized a kid playing with her marbles… etc! 🙂

    Thanks for the poem.

Leave a Reply

